Past AIPIO Presidents

Over the years the AIPIO has been lead by some exceptional individuals who have contributed to the development of professional best-practice in the intelligence community and promoted the profession of Intelligence within and without Australia.
Description of photo here AIPIO President 2012 - 2015

Scott Ainslie brings over 30 years’ experience in an intelligence environment. During his career with the Australian Defence Force he served in combat and counter intelligence roles completing his service as a strategic analyst with the Defence Intelligence Organisation. On leaving the ADF Scott moved into business specialising in information security risk management which led to his increased engagement with intelligence and information technology. His close association with members of the Australian Intelligence Community, the Australian Federal Police and Attorney-General’s Department make him an excellent broker in the establishment of commercial relationships between the Federal Government, Defence and business communities. Scott joined AIPIO in 1995 and served on the Board as Registrar from 1997-1999.
Scott was appointed President in November 2012.
 Description of photo here AIPIO President 2009 - 2012
Brett Peppler
is a career intelligence officer with over 34 years experience, principally as a strategic intelligence analyst. He began his career as a military intelligence officer in the Australian Department of Defence, where he became the Deputy Director of Military Intelligence before leaving active service. Brett spent five years in strategic criminal intelligence as a Chief Analyst with the Office of Strategic Crime Assessments before entering academia as an Associate Professor at Charles Sturt University, where he developed Australia’s first fully‐articulated, post‐graduate intelligence education program. Subsequently, Brett has consulted in the fields of intelligence, futures studies and risk both in Australia and overseas. Brett has written widely on intelligence, is a regular commentator on intelligence affairs, and a member of the adjunct faculties of several universities. Brett joined AIPIO in 1992, has a long history of Board service since 1995, was elevated to Fellow (FAIPIO) in 2009.  He currently works in the private sector and is an Adjunct Professor at Macquarie University, Centre for Policing, Intelligence and Counter
Terrorism (PICT).
AIPIO President 2009-2010

Greg McAnulty is based in Canberra and has over 25 year’s business experience in Europe, Middle East, Africa and Australia. Greg’s background is predominantly Information Technology and business centric in Government and the commercial world.
AIPIO President 2007 - 2008

David Maybin
has been associated with the Australian Institute of Professional Intelligence Officers (AIPIO) for over eight years and has convened the last four annual intelligence conferences, which have become the leading annual intelligence forum in the region.
AIPIO President 2001 - 2007
Dr Ian Wing
served as President for almost seven years. Under his leadership the Institute increased its membership, improved its financial situation, enhanced its internal governance and appointed state and territory representatives. Ian organised four national conferences and fostered greater awareness of the Institute within the profession. A career intelligence professional, who held the highest level of national security clearance for 22 years, Ian’s career includes all elements of the Australian Intelligence Community and many allied agencies. Experienced in the Intelligence Corps and the SAS, he has operational service in South-East Asia, the South-West Pacific, East Timor, Iraq and Afghanistan. He has held professorial and research appointments in three Australian universities and executive positions in private enterprise. Ian currently works in the Middle East.
AIPIO President 1999 - 2001

Jason Brown
is the National Security Director for the Thales Australia. He is responsible for security liaison with government, law enforcement and intelligence communities.
AIPIO President 1996 - 1999 

Paul Roger
is a charter member of AIPIO and contributed to the Institute’s establishment. Paul served on the Institute’s Board of Management for 6years from 1993 to 1999 during which time he performed the roles of Registrar, Newsletter Editor, Journal Editor, Vice President and President.
AIPIO President 1995 - 1996

Bevin Wigan’s
intelligence experience comprised 18 years in the Australian Intelligence Corps 1972-1990), including four years overseas and five years at the School of Military Intelligence (SMI), with three years as Commanding Officer / Chief Instructor (CO/CI).
AIPIO President - 1994-1995

Jack L’Epagniol
was a Foundation Member of AIPIO, and elected Vice President (Administration) at the inaugural AGM. He was Editor of the AIPIO Journal from1992 to 1995, and elected President in 1994. Jack retired in 1996, and is now living on the Sapphire Coast in the far south of NSW.
AIPIO President 1991-1994

Don McDowell’s
service with AIPIO began as convenor of the original meetings in September 1990, to form such an organisation, being voted in as the founding Charter President, a position he held until November 1994.

Social Media
Bookmark and Share

Follow us on Twitter Connect on LinkedIn

Site Map
Home   Current Board   Regional Support Network  
AIPIO Membership   Members Login   Journal  
Events   Forum   Annual Awards Scheme  
About Us   Key Stakeholders   Fellows  
PAG   Professionalisation   Past Presidents  
Values and Ethics   Newsletter   Seminar  
Events Calendar   International Seminar Series   Annual Conference and Exhibition  
Contact Us   Terms & Conditions   Privacy Policy  

Login  |  Online website builder by Chilli Websites click for more info on Chilli Websites